+49 6251 704708 0 info@CuroCon.de

Fig.: Buffered-HLL, pantograph charging system with energy storage, (Image: Adaptive Balancing Power GmbH).

Nothing dominates the media coverage these days like the threatening shortage of energy resources and supplies on the one hand and climate change on the other. It has long been necessary to take countermeasures and develop alternative concepts.

The use of electricity as an alternative energy source for cars has become widespread. With the expansion of local public transport and the discussion about 9,- Euro tickets, the topic of electrification of local public transport gets an additional explosiveness.

Our consortium of five players from industry and research has started building an unprecedented storage and charging network for electric buses as part of the "Buffered-HLL" project. To date, there are limitations due to a poorly developed power grid, especially in rural areas. Here, however, it is particularly important that all-electric buses are charged quickly for the longer distances they have to cover and are thus quickly ready for use again. The previous overnight charges are often not sufficient for the daily bus rotations.

These tasks are now being researched and solved in Bensheim an der Bergstrasse. The goals are, on the one hand, an automatic pantograph charging system that enables automatic intermediate charging. Secondly, a control system is to communicate with the depot management and thus optimize the charging process.

A modular and scalable HV box in the pantograph charging system network for DC sources is to be built. By means of a patented flywheel mass accumulator magnetically stored in a high vacuum, the energy from the power grid is collected and transferred to the vehicle at high power. This results in up to six times the power for a fast charging process. After just a few minutes, the bus can continue on its way.

CuroCon GmbH is responsible for the entire power electronics as well as the communication between the charging infrastructure and the bus. It can draw on its many years of expertise in this area. In previous customer projects from the test bench sector, various HV systems for standard-compliant charging of electric vehicles were developed and programmed according to customer specifications under the brand name DC-LinkUp®. A depot charging system with 10 AC charging points and 2 DC charging points was set up at the company's own site with freely programmable load and energy management and serves to further develop its own technologies.

The project is funded by the German Federal Ministry of Economics and Climate Protection (BMWK) and runs until June 2024.

 

Sources:

Adaptive Balancing Power GmbH: Solution for the mobility turnaround in the countryside: Public transport is now also becoming electric in the countryside. Press release, 2022.

CuroCon GmbH: Internal documents.

Isabellenhütte: ÖPNV auf dem Land: Schnellladestationen für E-Busse, press release 02/2022, 2022.

 

Further information:

https://www.adaptive-balancing.de/projekt-buffered-hll-testet-pantographen-schnellladestationen-mit-hochleistungs-schwungmassenspeicher-fuer-e-busse-im-laendlichen-raum/

https://reiner-lemoine-institut.de/buffered-hll/

https://www.electrive.net/2022/07/01/abp-baut-neuartige-pantographen-schnellladestation-in-hessen/

https://www.energiezukunft.eu/mobilitaet/projekt-zur-elektrisierung-des-oepnv-auf-dem-land/

 

Partner:

Adaptive Balancing Power GmbH

CuroCon GmbH

Isabellenhütte Heusler

Reiner Lemoine Institut

Verkehrsgesellschaft Gersprenztal mbH (VGG)

                             

en_USEnglish

+49 6251 704708 0 info@CuroCon.de

Abb.: Buffered-HLL, Pantographen-Ladesystem mit Energiespeicher, (Bild: Adaptive Balancing Power GmbH).

Nichts dominiert die Medienberichterstattung dieser Tage so wie die drohende Knappheit von Energieressourcen und -lieferungen auf der einen Seite und dem Klimawandel auf der anderen Seite. Längst ist es notwendig dem gegenzusteuern und alternative Konzepte zu entwickeln.

Die Nutzung von Strom als alternativer Energieträger für PKW ist in der Breite angekommen. Mit Ausbau des Personennahverkehrs und der Diskussion um 9,- Euro Tickets erhält das Thema Elektrifizierung vom öffentlichen Personennahverkehr eine zusätzliche Brisanz.

Unser Konsortium aus fünf Akteuren der Wirtschaft und Forschung hat im Rahmen des Projektes „Buffered-HLL“ mit dem Bau eines noch nicht da gewesenen Speicher- und Ladenetzes für elektrische Busse begonnen. Bis dato gibt es Einschränkungen aufgrund eines schlecht ausgebauten Stromnetzes, vor allem im ländlichen Raum. Hier ist es jedoch besonders wichtig, dass vollelektrische Busse für die längeren Strecken, die sie zurücklegen müssen, schnell geladen werden und damit zügig wieder einsatzbereit sind. Die bisherigen Ladungen über Nacht reichen oft nicht aus für die täglichen Busumläufe.

In Bensheim an der Bergstraße werden diese Aufgaben nun erforscht und gelöst. Ziele sind zum einen ein automatisches Pantographen-Ladesystem, das eine automatische Zwischenladungen ermöglicht. Zum anderen soll ein Steuerungssystem mit dem Betriebshofmanagement kommunizieren und so die Ladeprozess optimieren.

Dabei soll eine modulare und skalierbare HV-Box im Pantographen-Ladesystem-Verbund für DC-Quellen aufgebaut werden. Mittels patentiertem, magnetisch im Hochvakuum gelagertem Schwungmassespeichers wird die Energie aus dem Stromnetz gesammelt und mit hoher Leistung an das Fahrzeug weitergegeben. Dadurch wird eine bis zu sechsfache Leistung für einen Schnellladevorgang erreicht. Bereits nach wenigen Minuten kann der Bus seinen Weg fortsetzen.

Die CuroCon GmbH ist zuständig für die gesamte Leistungselektronik sowie die Kommunikation zwischen Ladeinfrastruktur und Bus. Dabei kann sie auf ihre langjährige Expertise in diesem Bereich zurückgreifen. In bisherigen Kundenprojekten aus dem Prüfstandsbereich wurden diverse HV-Anlagen zum normkonformen Laden von Elektrofahrzeugen unter dem Markennamen DC-LinkUp® kundenspezifisch entwickelt und programmiert. Ein Depot-Ladesystem mit 10 AC-Ladepunkten und 2 DC-Ladepunkten wurde am firmeneigenen Standort mit frei programmierbarem Last- und Energiemanagement aufgebaut und dient der Weiterentwicklung der eigenen Technologien.

Das Projekt wird gefördert durch das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz (BMWK) und läuft bis Juni 2024.

 

Quellen:

Adaptive Balancing Power GmbH: Lösung für die Mobilitätswende in der Fläche: Der ÖPNV wird jetzt auch auf dem Land elektrisch. Pressemitteilung, 2022.

CuroCon GmbH: Interne Unterlagen.

Isabellenhütte: ÖPNV auf dem Land: Schnellladestationen für E-Busse, Pressemitteilung 02/2022, 2022.

 

Weiterführende Informationen:

https://www.adaptive-balancing.de/projekt-buffered-hll-testet-pantographen-schnellladestationen-mit-hochleistungs-schwungmassenspeicher-fuer-e-busse-im-laendlichen-raum/

https://reiner-lemoine-institut.de/buffered-hll/

https://www.electrive.net/2022/07/01/abp-baut-neuartige-pantographen-schnellladestation-in-hessen/

https://www.energiezukunft.eu/mobilitaet/projekt-zur-elektrisierung-des-oepnv-auf-dem-land/

 

Partner:

Adaptive Balancing Power GmbH

CuroCon GmbH

Isabellenhütte Heusler

Reiner Lemoine Institut

Verkehrsgesellschaft Gersprenztal mbH (VGG)

                             

de_DEGerman